CM Green joined Mayor Parker, Harris County Judge Ed Emmett, and Jeff Staler (FEMA branch manager for Harris County) to highlight the two (2) FEMA mobile registration intake centers that have opened in Houston. These mobile intake centers will serve homeowners, renters, and business owners who sustained damage as a result past flood. Specialists from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are there to answer questions and provide information on the types of assistance available to survivors.

The locations and dates of operation are:

Meyerland Community Improvement Association
4999 West Belfort Ave.
Houston, TX 77035
8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. — 7 days per week until further notice

Spring Woods Middle School
Intersection of Hammerly Boulevard and Pine Village Drive
9810 Neuens Rd.
Houston, TX 77080
8 a.m. to 8 p.m. 7 days per week until further notice

According to FEMA, those people who sustained storm damage within Harris, Hays, and Van Zandt counties can register for FEMA assistance online at or via smartphone or web-enabled device at Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585 from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. daily.

Multilingual operators are available. Flood survivors statewide can call and report their damages to give the state and FEMA a better idea of the assistance that is needed in undesignated counties.

Assistance for eligible survivors can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, and for other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs. Low-interest disaster loans from SBA also may be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Eligible survivors should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but under-insured applicants may receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.